The Health & Safety Committee is a proactive group of members that bring important information to our monthly Health & Safety and Union meetings.

Since the inception of the Health and Safety or the Occupational Health and Safety Act in 1978, our committee debates all issues relating to workplace health and safety issues.

Health & Safety Committee Members

  • Chair – Akmal Omarzayi
  • Co Chair – Santino Guida
  • Co Chair – Joe Marcello
  • Rajendra Sooknanan
  • Kaz Bevk
  • Ryan Pacheco
  • Paul Shrimpton
  • Graham Jones

Health & Safety Recognition Award

The purpose of this annual award is to acknowledge a member who has taken a positive approach to workplace health and safety. The overall objective is to promote a healthier and safer workplace for all. It doesn’t matter if the nominee is an Apprentice, Journeyman or Foreman.

The Health & Safety Committee will select a recipient from all eligible candidates nominated by members.

Nominations will be open from September 1st to December 31st. Nominations are for the preceding year and are open to all active members.

Please mail of fax a form containing the following information:

Member Nominated
Card #
Job Location

Nominated by
Card #
Nominator’s Phone #
Nominator’s Email Address
Description of act or acts which has improved the workplace health and safety.


Local Union 353 Health & Safety Committee
1377 Lawrence Ave. E. Toronto, ON M3A 3P8
Fax# (416) 510-3531